Monday, August 3, 2020

Follow along with the MIDNIGHT AT THE BARCLAY HOTEL blog tour!

I'm so excited for the Aug. 25th release if MIDNIGHT AT THE BARCLAY HOTEL...! 

If you want to join the fun, follow along with the blog tour (and giveaways) here:


Aug. 3rd: Book review at Always in the Middle
Aug. 11th: An interview at MG Bookvillage
Aug 14th: Book review at Charlotte’s Library
Aug. 16th: Guest post: Fleur talks about reaching reluctant readers at Unleashing Readers
Aug. 18th: Review at MG Mojo
Aug. 19th.: Interview and giveaway at From the Mixed-Up Files
Aug. 21st: Book review at Our Thoughts Precisely.
Aug. 23rd: Interview and giveaway at Spooky MG
Aug. 24th: Interview at YA Booknerd
Sept. 4th : Fleur talks about getting out of your comfort zone on Kirby Larson’s blog
Sept. 8th: Fleur outlines how to develop a compelling MG concept at Writer's Digest


Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Pre-order Midnight at the Barclay Hotel and get swag!

I'm tearing myself away from summer reading to share a pre-order promotion:

Pre-order Midnight at the Barclay Hotel and get signed bookmarks, a signed bookplate, and a sticker...! Here's what you have to do:

1. Pre-order Midnight at the Barclay Hotel from any retailer--that can be your local independent bookstore, or anywhere online. Here's the link from my publisher Penguin/Random House, where there are buy buttons to pretty much everywhere; 

2. Send a picture of your proof of purchase to Fleur@ftbradley.com, along with your mailing address;

3. I'll send you this swag! Even to you international friends (check your preferred online retailer, or Book Depository if you're outside the U.S.)!


**Ends Sept. 1, 2020, or when I run out of supplies...**


Thursday, May 28, 2020

Middle-Grade Summer Reading Challenge


It’s summer! Well, almost anyway. Here in Colorado, the weather is nice enough to make me think I can plant a tree, so that counts as summer.

I had better things in mind for this time of year (for those of you who know me, you’ll know I had heart surgery in January), fun stuff that involved travel and even some early promotion of my upcoming middle-grade novel Midnight at the Barclay Hotel (August 25th! Mark your calendar! Pre-order!)

Alas, this is the year we all have to do without something, and I am certainly not going to complain. Compared to the (high) school grads, littles who miss their teachers, and all the other tragedy that COVID-19 is bringing us this year, I have it pretty good. I’m still writing, and have a beautiful Colorado to escape in when I feel too cooped up.

Still. I feel like if I don’t turn this thing on its head and set out to make summer special, I might get a little grumpy. So I decided to give myself a reading challenge, first of all, so I'd have some books for June and July. I went on the Twitterz and asked for middle-grade book recommendation, and boy did I get them! Thank you for those, internet friends. I added a few titles that were already on my radar, and…

Presto! I have a MG summer reading list. I ordered these books from my various indie bookstores in Colorado, so I’m also supporting my favorite hangouts. It’s a win all around.

You can join me, create your own list, or just follow along. I’ll be giving away these books by the end of summer, in August sometime.


Here’s my book list:

The One and Only Bob by Katherine Applegate
Ben Braver and the Vortex of Doom by Marcus Emerson
The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts
Pax by Sara Pennypacker, Illustr. by Jon Klassen
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen by Merrill Wyatt
The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson
A Home for Goddesses and Dogs by Leslie Connor
Keep it Together, Keiko Carter by Debbi Michiko Florence
American As Paneer Pie by Supriya Kelkar
The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelli Barnhill
Stick Dog by Tom Watson, Illustr. Ethan Long
The Cryptid Catcher by Lija Fisher

Read on, y’all!

Monday, May 11, 2020

New Author Visit Information

In case you landed here looking for author visit information: I have updated my website due to COVID-19 restrictions. 

With the release of Midnight at the Barclay Hotel in August, I'm getting requests for the new school year already (very fun and exciting...) I miss doing author visits in person, but I've adapted my presentations to go virtual in the meantime.


You can find more information at this link; I look forward to lots of Skype and Zoom visits for the 2020-2021 school year!


Sunday, November 17, 2019

Breaking book news: Look for MIDNIGHT AT THE BARCLAY HOTEL in 2020..!

I'm so excited that I can (finally) share this big news...

I have a new middle-grade book coming out! 

It's called Midnight at the Barclay Hotel, and it'll be published by Viking (Penguin/Random House imprint); here's the official deal announcement:



Pass the cake, guys!


Monday, November 4, 2019

#MMGM Review: SHINE! by JJ Grabenstein & Chris Grabenstein

From the Publisher: 

Everyone deserves to shine in this sparkling new book from the New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, Chris Grabenstein, and coauthor J.J. Grabenstein--just right for fans of Word of Mouse and The Fourteenth Goldfish.

"Who do you want to be?" asks Mr. Van Deusen. "And not when you grow up. Right here, right now."

Shine on! might be the catchphrase of twelve-year-old Piper's hero--astronaut, astronomer, and television host Nellie Dumont Frisse--but Piper knows the truth: some people are born to shine, and she's just not one of them. That fact has never been clearer than now, since her dad's new job has landed them both at Chumley Prep, a posh private school where everyone seems to be the best at something and where Piper definitely doesn't fit in.

Bursting with humor, heart, science, possibilities, and big questions, Shine! is a story about finding your place in the universe--a story about figuring out who you are and who you want to be.


My thoughts: 

I was really looking forward to reading SHINE!, and it did not disappoint. I loved Piper, the sweet message (while still providing plenty of depth in plot and character).

I've been a big fan of Chris Grabenstein's work; I think SHINE! shows a new side to his writing I really love. JJ Grabenstein clearly should have started writing long ago! Such a great book, one that gets it right on all levels: plot, character, setting, and theme.

I could see SHINE! being a great classroom read, at-home read for a family, and perfect for all ages. Highly recommend.


**NetGalley provided e-copy for review**



Tuesday, October 8, 2019

2019 National Book Awards Finalists -- Young People's Literature

In case you want to elevate your reading, here are the finalists for the 2019 NBA in Young People's Literature. Not sure if any of these are mysteries; I'll have to read them and report back...

Young People’s Literature

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi (Random House/Make Me a World)

Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks by Jason Reynolds, illus. by Alexander Nabaum (Atheneum/Dlouhy)

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay (Penguin/Kokila)

Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All by Laura Ruby (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray)

1919: The Year That Changed America by Martin W. Sandler (Bloomsbury)

Get the full list of nominees for all categories here



Follow along with the MIDNIGHT AT THE BARCLAY HOTEL blog tour!

I'm so excited for the Aug. 25th release if MIDNIGHT AT THE BARCLAY HOTEL...!  If you want to join the fun, follow along with the bl...