Monday, November 4, 2019

#MMGM Review: SHINE! by JJ Grabenstein & Chris Grabenstein

From the Publisher: 

Everyone deserves to shine in this sparkling new book from the New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, Chris Grabenstein, and coauthor J.J. Grabenstein--just right for fans of Word of Mouse and The Fourteenth Goldfish.

"Who do you want to be?" asks Mr. Van Deusen. "And not when you grow up. Right here, right now."

Shine on! might be the catchphrase of twelve-year-old Piper's hero--astronaut, astronomer, and television host Nellie Dumont Frisse--but Piper knows the truth: some people are born to shine, and she's just not one of them. That fact has never been clearer than now, since her dad's new job has landed them both at Chumley Prep, a posh private school where everyone seems to be the best at something and where Piper definitely doesn't fit in.

Bursting with humor, heart, science, possibilities, and big questions, Shine! is a story about finding your place in the universe--a story about figuring out who you are and who you want to be.


My thoughts: 

I was really looking forward to reading SHINE!, and it did not disappoint. I loved Piper, the sweet message (while still providing plenty of depth in plot and character).

I've been a big fan of Chris Grabenstein's work; I think SHINE! shows a new side to his writing I really love. JJ Grabenstein clearly should have started writing long ago! Such a great book, one that gets it right on all levels: plot, character, setting, and theme.

I could see SHINE! being a great classroom read, at-home read for a family, and perfect for all ages. Highly recommend.


**NetGalley provided e-copy for review**



9 comments:

  1. This sounds like a wonderful book! I've read several other books by Chris Grabenstein and enjoyed them, so I'm sure this one is fantastic as well! Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just saw this book for the first time this morning and instantly added it to my Goodreads as I know this author won't disappoint me. So happy you enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like the emphasis on finding your shine right now. What are you passionate about now, instead of tying it to the future and a career. This feels like a book that challenges readers to go more deeply into themselves. I would think it would build self-confidence. Also a good book to encourage readers to look at how they can make a difference around them.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you all for stopping by--I hope you get a chance to read it if you haven't yet. I couldn't agree more, Patricia!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm also a big Chris Grabenstein fan. I'm glad he's tackling such an important topic. I've put this high on my list of books to read. Thanks for featuring on MMGM.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sounds like a book with a lot of heart. Such an important message for middle grade age kids.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm also a Chris Grabenstein fan and I have a ARC of this book just waiting to be read and your review has inspired me. Thanks for sharing it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sounds like a great read and everyone else is excited for it too. I'll have to see if it comes out in audio when it releases.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I have read and enjoyed other books by Chris Grabenstein and this one sounds great. I hadn't heard of it- so I really enjoyed learning about it here. Thanks for sharing!
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete

Follow along with the MIDNIGHT AT THE BARCLAY HOTEL blog tour!

I'm so excited for the Aug. 25th release if MIDNIGHT AT THE BARCLAY HOTEL...!  If you want to join the fun, follow along with the bl...